Hiya… I have been gone but life has been hectic. Isn’t it always?

Yesterday I caught one of my subordinate on the net at 1 pm which totally pissed me off. I don’t call and check up on him and he has taken advantage of my trust. On questioning, he told me; “You asked me not do so-and-so work right away and so I was not on the field”. I made him send me an apology mail and gave a stern reply. I want to either shift this guy to another channel or kick him out…. but… it is always better to try and train the existing people than recruit someone new. I informed my Boss. Tomorrow he is going to work with this guy in the market… one reason is that he wants to be sure he is as bad as I tell him he is… second is that he wants to collect info against me. Lets see how it goes. My subordinate knows what an asshole my boss is… I doubt he will do/say something wrong.

Onto more pleasant things… I have exceeded my sales targets for this month… Since they are beyond my control I could not reduce them. I met up with B who is a school friend. I have blogged about her earlier. She was meeting her school friend R who was also my friend in 9th std but we drifted apart in 10th std. We are both Geminis and my friendship with Gemini does not survive too long… (HD- being an exception). The plan was to meet R at Globus ‘coz she wanted to have Pau Bhaji (she is on a 2 week holiday from California). Anyway… while B and we were waiting for R we entered Globus to pee… and ended up shopping and then ended up not buying anything (she wanted to shop… I didn’t even try on anything)…

Some background on R- She is a Bong born and brought up in Mumbai. Her Mom passed away when she was young… and she told everyone in school that her stepmom is her Masi (which is not true… she didn’t want people to know she has a stepmom). She married her best friend 3 years back… who is a Punjabi from Delhi. After staying in Delhi for a year she moved to California. Meeting all kinds of relatives in Delhi and her hubby’s snobbish Punjabi friends has driven her mad in the short vacation. Her in-laws are not mean or bad but they are different … she is an independent, outspoken Bong girl of Mumbai while her in-laws are more family oriented with typical Punjabi traits. She does not want to move back to India ‘coz that will mean staying in Delhi with in-laws. Mumbai is her preferred destination in the whole world.

Anyways… she was trying to convince me to shift to Bandra or Parel (she stays in Bandra)- somewhere closer to office. I refused… the traffic, congested spaces, dilapidated buildings without security, high rents, water problems do not make up for less commute.

I generally avoid meeting people I am not in touch with… times changes things and people sooo much …. it is difficult to connect at times. But meeting B’s friends (who were known to me) is fun and interesting. A little dent in my usual routine.

The other day I went to Panvel which is a much better place than Ulhasnagar… Ulhasnagar is more backward than Rajkot and so dreary. Panvel has a small town feel to it which is charming.

Chalo… gtg… waiting for the weekend.

