I had watched the movie few years back and didn’t like it. It was too sad… worse, it is a real story. I believe in happy endings.

This one does have a happy ending but after a hard life… and I don’t understand how a small girl can fall in love with a man old enough to be her father. Everything she does after that is an attempt to get closer to him. My feminist mind can’t accept this.

I had no intention of reading the book… but Moushami recommended it to me. I like the book… Maybe I still don’t understand how a small girl can fall in love with a man old enough to be her father… but atleast I have tried to understand.

It is a good book… worth a read.

I always end up reading the books and also watching the movies based on them. I think ‘Namesake’ is the only movie which does not completely follow the book. The storyline is the same… but the movie is about the parents’ (Tabu and Irrfan Khan) perspective and the book is about their child’s (Gogol) perspective.

